What is projection mapping?

Visually, I know what projection mapping is, but technically I have no idea, I only know that in uni there is a program called MadMapper which I have tried and (surprise, surprise) failed to get an induction in; although I have found a free software online called VPT7. I have been asking question in my mind, such as can you use normal projectors, so finally I have looked into it and now it is clear thanks to this website.

Projection Mapping uses everyday video projectors, but instead of projecting on a flat screen (e.g. to display a PowerPoint), light is mapped onto any surface, turning common objects of any 3D shape into interactive displays.
More formally, projection mapping is “the display of an image on an arbitrarily complex surface”.

Projection mapping has many alternate names including the original academic term “spatial augmented reality” and “video mapping.”

Any shape or surface can be brought to life, even a whole room, through projection mapping. This is so exciting and I would love to create something for a party linked to Graces music video; although I think the footage would need to be much more specific, I’m not sure much of my current footage would be suitable, and I’d definitely have to create a separate video.

The idea is to project onto something to create levels and new shapes; bringing something to life. This could be as simple as some blocks to create shapes. This is really exciting, I can’t wait to have a go and learn how it is done.

Bringing a building to life:

Transforming a trainer:

And a car:

The ceiling of a party:

Leave a Reply

