Cultural Consumption #9: Go to an International Supermarket and try a food you’ve never tried before

So Loren and I went to an international supermarket in Hyde Park, it was quite big so I expected to find lots of new things, but we didn’t. Most of the shelves were empty and there was no fresh fruit/vegetable produce. In the end I went for butter beans, maybe not that international but I’ve never had them before. I already had some ratatouille so I added them into this for my tea last night. In the process I made this pretty rubbish, cheesy stop frame using an app on my iPad.

The butter beans were ok, I didn’t like them, but I didn’t not like them either. They were just quite ‘beany’ I put too many of them in so had an overload and couldn’t eat them all. Although I’d buy them again as they’re a good addition to that kind of meal, and I don’t really eat enough beans as it is.

As well as this Loren bought some strange chocolate cake. It looked really dry and was hard to cut through but it actually tasted surprisingly nicer than it looks! It was very chocolatey but it was quite moreish.

20140113_161621

The main thing I learnt from this is that internationals supermarkets aren’t really that much different to normal ones and there obviously isn’t a great demand for their produce in this area as they weren’t well stocked and it was nearly empty when we visited. Although it was cheap.

Recently I discovered a wonderful thing called Market DeliveredĀ which is a group that packages and delivers fresh market produce, I was really excited by this as I used to get my food from the market last year but its quite far away now. I ordered a fruit box and a salad box, you can’t pick what is in them it’s just a random mix. When they arrived they were brimmed full, especially the fruit box and in there were some mysterious fruits. I had to put a picture on Facebook to find out if anyone knew what it was and what to do with it, turns out it was a Sharon fruit and it quite delicious! I went back to another international supermarket with Mary, which was a much better one than I went to and it had lots of fresh produce on the shelves and included were some Sharon fruits, so this also counts as a food I haven’t eaten before I just didn’t buy it from and international supermarket and it was kind of an accident.

20140117_162122

Leave a comment